Beak Up Crafts

I'll craft anything once

Inspired by the past – A trip to Temple Newsam

4 Comments

Hello everyone, I hope you’re all well today. Spring seems to be very much on its way now – dare I say it but there are blue skies above our home in east Yorkshire today… Probably cursed it now, though!

Yesterday Wayne and I had the day off work and so did our friend Aimee so we decided to head out and go and have a bit of culture. We met in Leeds and as the weather was a bit naff (think fog, depressing grey clouds and omnipresent drizzle) we knew we needed a mostly indoor activity. After giving it a bit of thought, we decided on a visit to Temple Newsam Β –Β Β a Tudor-Jacobean house with grounds landscaped by Capability Brown which was mentioned in the Domesday Book as “Neuhusum” in 1086.

Temple Newsam HouseI’ll skip the history lesson, but let’s just say through the Knights Templar (which gives the house and estate its name), to Elizabeth I seizing the property after the owner’s son Lord Henry Darnley married Mary Queen of Scots, the house has a colourful past. It is now owned by Leeds City Council and it was one of the places Wayne and I looked at as a possible wedding venue, before we fell in love with Rudding Park in Harrogate.

We started off with a walk around the house, which was grand but had surprisingly small rooms, apart from the picture gallery which was huge.

The thing that struck me the most was the soft furnishings. Although the four poster beds were more often than not draped in hundreds of metres of crimson red damask, the wallpaper (most of which was from the 18th century) looked really modern and fresh. I have to say I found the patterns and colours really inspiring. I love the soft muted colours and patterns, although maybe not the carpet – I’m guessing this might be a more recent addition!

Here are a few examples – I included the dark red one as it was furry to the touch!

I’m now trying to work out how I can incorporate this in some kind of craft…

Jazzy carpet

After the house we had a wander round the farm next to the property. This was really good fun and would be especially good for children. Here’s a few pictures of what we saw!

Have you ever visited anywhere and been inspired by the past? I would love to hear about it, especially if it’s close enough for a day trip!

Kate x

Author: Kate

Editor of craft and lifestyle inspiration site Beak Up Crafts. www.beakupcrafts.co.uk

4 thoughts on “Inspired by the past – A trip to Temple Newsam

  1. Sorry to laugh but I was just admiring the last wall paper the saw your feet, so I figure that’s the carpet then πŸ˜€

  2. No where near me would be a day trip for you! This looks like a wonderful spot to visit, though–so OLD and such a history! The US is so young, by comparison.

Leave a Reply

