Beak Up Crafts

I'll craft anything once

Granny Square blanket update

3 Comments

Hello everyone, I hope you have all had a great week.

I’m sad to report that it’s been slow progress on my granny square blanket. Last week flew by in a flash and when I’m not working I seem to be doing wedding-related stuff. Who knew planning something like that would take so much time?!

Anyway, I have made some progress with my granny squares. I have decided to use Attic24’s really great and simple method to join my squares, but as they are a rainbow of different colours I felt like they needed tidying up a bit first.

I decided to single crochet a border around them in an off-white colour yarn, which I will then use to stitch them together.Β I’m hoping this will give me a neater finish as the joining stitches won’t show.

Here are the ones I have done so far:

Granny squares with white border

A comparison of a square with a border and without a border. I think with a border looks neater:

Border and no border

I managed to do eight squares today after a morning of chores and before going to work for a late shift and hopefully I will be able to do some more in the coming week. I hate not having time to craft!

Slowly, slowly makes a blanket!

Kate x

Author: Kate

Editor of craft and lifestyle inspiration site Beak Up Crafts. www.beakupcrafts.co.uk

3 thoughts on “Granny Square blanket update

  1. The border works really well to unite all the different colours. Have you joined any together yet? They’re going to look gorgeous.

  2. The off white really makes the colours stand out, I used Lucy’s method to join my granny square blanket & was very pleased with the result, you blanket is looking a riot of colour superb πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks ladies! I’ve not joined any together yet – going to do all of the borders first πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

