Beak Up Crafts

I'll craft anything once

Feeling Fat (Quarters)

5 Comments

Hello everyone,

I hope you’re all well! It’s Friday again! Do you have any nice plans for the weekend? Wayne and I are going out for tea with a couple of friends tonight then tomorrow I’m having a makeup trial for the wedding. I’m a bit nervous as I’ve never had one before but fingers crossed it will go well and I won’t end up looking like I’ve had a run in with some Ronseal wood stain or like a painted doll…

Anyway, after last week’s post where I asked for some help with my new sewing machine – thanks again to everyone who took the time to read my post and offer brilliant advice, I really appreciate it – I have a quick update.

OK, so I haven’t been brave enough to actually try and sew anything yet but I have made a step in the right direction by buying some fabric to practice with.

Here it is, isn’t it pretty:

One thing I do like is that the material comes in a size known as a Fat Quarter. This is a new one on me but I think it’s a brilliant name. Quite why there isn’t a Slim 16th or a Fat Eighth is called a Fat Eighth (when really it’s not that fat) I don’t know, but I like it all the same and I’m looking forward to making a start.

That reminds me, I must buy some batteries for my mini sewing machine.

I have to admit, my crafting has kind of taken a back seat this week as wedding planning has taken over. I guess that’s what happens when you’re just over a month away from saying “I dos”. Things are all on track, but meeting with the venue and florist, writing notes and ticking things off lists means apart from the crochet bird cake toppers, I haven’t had time to try and get to grips with my new sewing machine. Hopefully I will get the chance next week!

Speak to you then!

Kate x

Author: Kate

Editor of craft and lifestyle inspiration site Beak Up Crafts. www.beakupcrafts.co.uk

5 thoughts on “Feeling Fat (Quarters)

  1. Those are really pretty. Remember you can make your expensive fabrics go further when quilting by using plain fabric or recycled stuff (stripey shirts, sheets, pillow cases, all those are good to give you lots of a background colour) to intersperse with your best fabrics. I always try to keep a few sheets whole as well as they are great for backing the quilts if you are making large ones.

    • Thanks for the tip! I really want to get cracking on making something with these but work and wedding planning keep getting in the way! At least I’ve got them now I guess so when I get some spare time I can get stuck in! Thanks for stopping by my blog šŸ™‚

  2. The fat Quarters are soooo pretty, how exciting only a month till the big day, don’t stress too much the day will be perfect šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

    • Just over a month left to go – not sure where all of the time has gone to be honest! Thanks for your kind words šŸ™‚ I’m really looking forward to the day!

  3. so pretty – the fat quarter really made me laugh first time I saw them too.

Leave a comment