Beak Up Crafts

I'll craft anything once

How to… Upcycle a Bureau with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint

4 Comments

annie sloan

I don’t know about you, but when you get into crafting, your wool, yarn and craft-related *stuff* just grows at a ridiculous rate. I mean, who is able to go and look at the haberdashery department of their local department store or to the stall on the market without coming home with an armful of new supplies? Not me, anyway.

I started off with one ball of wool and one crochet hook which was pretty easy to stash away in a corner of the living room. As my love for crochet grew, so did my collection of wool and the little amigurumi animals I made with it.

This called for a solution, not least because my other half was getting a bit fed up with a pile of wool in the corner of the room…

We had an old bureau in the workshop which hadn’t been used for years. All it needed was a bit of TLC and I knew it could be the solution I was looking for.

I did a bit of research, and not being someone with a great deal of patience(!), I decided that Annie Sloan Chalk Paint was the way forward, mostly because of the minimal preparation (a quick wipe down and no sanding!) and the vintage look they produce.

Cue a trip to Boathouse Originals in Hull to buy some Annie Sloan Chalk Paint in Original with a brush and some clear soft wax and I was all set.

All I needed was a sunny day and a free afternoon to breathe a new lease of life into a tired old piece of furniture. I couldn’t be happier with the results:

Before and after

Before and after

What I did:

  1. Carried the old bureau out into the garden and gave it a good clean with a cloth and some warm water.
  2. Dried it all off and removed the drawers.
  3. With an Annie Sloan bristle brush and I did two coats of the chalk paint, letting it dry in between. This didn’t take long in the glorious sunshine! (It was quite tricky getting into all of the nooks and crannies in the inside shelves, though – I won’t lie!)
  4. I then washed the brush thoroughly and used it to paint on one coat of clear wax.
  5. I gave the bureau a good buff with a white cloth and it was done!

The paint went on really easily with no prep other than cleaning the bureau down to get rid of any dust. I’m really pleased with it πŸ™‚

The bureau is now at home in our front room, which is a dining room/craft room, and stores all of my crafting paraphernalia.

Inside the bureau

Inside the bureau

And here’s the new bureau in pride of place in our new dining/craft room:

Upcycled craft bureau

So have you been tempted to try and upcycle an old and unloved piece of furniture? I would love to see your pictures.

Kate x

Author: Kate

Editor of craft and lifestyle inspiration site Beak Up Crafts. www.beakupcrafts.co.uk

4 thoughts on “How to… Upcycle a Bureau with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint

  1. Up cycling furniture I haven’t tried too busy trying to upcycle the house lol

  2. Haha! Ah good luck with it! Took us ages to completely do one room. Worth it though πŸ™‚

  3. that looks great, I have a cupboard I need to paint, but I keep putting it off because of the hassle of sanding and priming before you even start painting, maybe I should check out the chalk paints!

    • Thank you! I am really pleased with the results. I chose the chalk paints mostly because of the lack of prep time as I couldn’t be bothered with the sanding and priming! They are a bit more expensive than normal paint but worth it I think πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

